Families outraged after driver convicted in deadly DUI crash arrested again

Updated: Apr. 1, 2021 at 10:17 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DESOTO COUNTY, Miss. (WMC) - A DeSoto County prosecutor says there’s a major loophole in the drunk driving laws in Mississippi.

Two women say it’s time for a change.

Ronna Brasser and Lesley Guy first bonded over being Dustin and Dalton’s moms.

“Dalton was like one of my children. Dalton could walk into my house, didn’t have to knock on the door, come in get a glass of tea, you know they were family,” said Guy.

Everything changed on November 24, 2015.

Their sons, both 19-years-old at the time, were riding with then 20-year-old Jason Tyler Dancy when he flipped his car multiple times crashing into a tree.

Dustin sustained a debilitating brain injury, but Dalton, his best friend and hunting buddy died at the scene.

“I couldn’t work, because I couldn’t function, I was just stuck in grief,” said Brasser.

Dancy was convicted of a DUI with death or injury.

That was five years ago and just when these two moms were finally getting to a place of healing, they got the news they didn’t think they would ever hear again.

After 5 years in prison, Dancy was released early and within three weeks of being out was busted again for drunk driving.

“He’s gonna kill someone else. He’s gonna injure someone else or kill someone if he stays on the street,” said Brasser.

According to the police report, Dancy was pulled over on Highway 305 in Olive Branch Sunday night after running a stop sign.

The deputy reported she smelled alcohol on Dancy, saw an open twelve-pack of Bud Light in the back seat of his Jeep Cherokee and a passenger in the car said they had been smoking marijuana earlier.

Dancy was booked into the DeSoto County Jail, but it was his charge that really angered the two moms.

He was charged with DUI first offense.

“It’s a slap in the face,” said Brasser.

In Mississippi, if your last DUI offense was more than five years old then it’s like starting all over.

“Even if that five years is spent in prison the prior offense doesn’t count against the person,” said Luke Williamson, Desoto County District Attorney.

It also doesn’t matter if that last DUI resulted in death or injury.

DeSoto County prosecutor Luke Williamson admits that it’s a loophole in the law, but his hands are tied.

A first offense DUI charge is a misdemeanor.

“Without a doubt, we would absolutely love to see a longer lookback period than five years. Impaired driving is a dangerous and deadly crime and should be treated as such,” said Sunny House with Mothers Against Drunk Driving.

House says impaired driving is 100% preventable because the consequences of drunk driving are immeasurable.

Dustin Lofton can no longer walk, talk or feed himself.

His mom will be his caregiver for the rest of his life.

The man that put him in this condition may spend just 48 hours in jail for his latest offense.

“He’s got his life ahead of him, you know Dalton and Dustin don’t. They don’t get that chance,” said Brasser.

Williamson says because Dancy was on probation at the time of his arrest, it’s possible he will face further consequences for that violation.

Dancy has posted his $750 bond.

We did attempt to reach out to Dancy for a comment but was unsuccessful.

If you, or someone you love, has been the victim of a violent crime, you can contact a MADD Victim Advocate, 24 hours a day, at 1-877-MADD-HELP (1-877-623-3435).

Copyright 2021 WMC. All rights reserved.